Oat is gluten-free and it lowers cholesterol

cgdsro’s photo on Pixabay.    Prefer whole oats, flakes, bran, or flour, ensuring that the total concentration of nutrients in the oats remains intact.

Oat (Avena Sativa)

Plant: 

Oats belong to the Poaceae family and have about 450 species, the most common being the Avena Sativa. This plant produces a hard grain and is able to withstand growing conditions in poor soil, where other types of crops would find it difficult to survive. Consumer preference should be for whole oats, flakes, bran, or flour, ensuring that the total nutrient concentration in the oats remains intact.

Properties:

Anxiolytic, antidepressant, anti-hemorrhoidal, anti-rheumatic, anti-diabetic, healing, digestive, diuretic, emollient, expectorant, hypotensive, hypnotic, sedative, among others, are some of the properties offered by oats. This cereal is rich in vegetable proteins (mainly avenalin, like legumes), soluble and insoluble fibers, minerals (manganese, cobalt, phosphorus, lead, magnesium, copper and zinc…) and vitamins, including vitamin B1, B7, biotin… Each 100g of oats contains around 350 calories, 17g of protein and 11g of fiber. Oats do not contain gluten, so they can be eaten by celiacs and are a food with a low glycemic index (carbohydrates are absorbed slowly, which does not cause spikes in blood sugar and therefore insulin).

Benefits:

  • Atherosclerosis,
  • cholesterol,
  • diabetes,
  • degenerative diseases,
  • menstrual pain,
  • balances the menstrual cycle,
  • hypertension,
  • urinary tract infection,
  • osteoporosis…

How to consume:

Half a cup of oat tea or three tablespoons of bran a day, you don’t even know how good it feels. It can be eaten in flakes, flour, bran, raw or cooked. Have you tried oats in yogurts, smoothies, salads, or just drinking vegetable milk? You can also eat bread, pancakes, or make homemade cakes or porridge. The greatest consumption should be done in autumn and winter because it is a cereal with a high level of carbohydrates, which helps to overcome low temperatures.

Contraindication:

Oats do not contain gluten in their constitution, however, for those who are intolerant or hypersensitive, they must always make sure of it reading the composition described on the packaging. In addition, it is important to be aware, because each body is different, there may be possible incompatibilities, total or momentary, generated by its ingestion.

This text is an awareness. Depending on the season and the moment in which you are, it is up to each Being to feel whether he should consume this food. The dosage and frequency depend on the nature and physical condition of each Human Being.

Know more about cereals on:

Cereals should have an important presence in our diet

Meet eight cereals that invade our table

Love
rfwbs-sliderfwbs-sliderfwbs-sliderfwbs-sliderfwbs-slide